top of page
  • Writer's picturekaoinspo

chocolate coconut oat clusters


I recently discovered my love for shredded coconut when I tried trail mix with toasted coconut. How have I been missing out on this delicious treat for so long?!

After a crazy last few weeks of the semester, I have finally found some time to rest and regain some inspiration to blog another recipe. This recipe was inspired by my new found love of shredded coconut, and it is a fun twist on classic coconut macaroons. I'm excited with how the recipe turned out. For all of the coconut lovers out there-- check it out and let me know what you think :)

Ingredients

- 1/3 cup sugar

- 1 can sweetened condensed milk

- 2 tbsp. cocoa powder

- 1 cup quick or rolled oats

- 1 1/2 cup shredded coconut (I used sweetened)

- 1 tsp. salt


How to make it (makes about 24-30 clusters)

- Preheat oven to 325

- In a medium sauce pan, combine 1/3 cup sugar, 1 can sweetened condensed milk, and 2 tbsp. cocoa powder

- Stir mixture on medium heat until ingredients are combined

- Remove from heat and add cocoa mixture to a medium bowl

- Add 1 cup oats, 1 1/2 cup shredded coconut, and 1 tsp. salt to the bowl and fold ingredients together

- Line a baking sheet with parchment paper

- Form mixture into 1 inch clusters and place on baking sheet (I baked 12 clusters at a time- 3x4)

- Bake for 12-14 minutes depending on how crisp you want the clusters



Finished product


For next time...

My family enjoys when our desserts have a balance of sweet and salty, but if you prefer a sweeter flavor, I would cut down the salt to 3/4 tsp. or 1/2 tsp. Additionally, next time I make these, I will sprinkle more coconut on top of the clusters next time because toasted coconut is delish!

Variations

After experimenting to create this recipe, I came up with some fun ways to personalize it. Some ideas include adding 2/3 cup chopped nuts (almonds, pecans, etc.) and/or 1/3 cup of nut butter (peanut butter or almond butter). Additionally, for a more coconutty taste, you could use coconut sugar as opposed granulated sugar. Also, if you are looking to cut back on sugar you could cut the amount of sugar down to 1/4 cup or try it without sugar. I think the sweetened coconut flakes would provide a sweet enough flavor.

All in all

I was super excited about how these cookies turned out. For all of you coconut lovers out there, let me know if you decide to try out this recipe, and if so let me know what you think! Also--for all of my GF friends out there, these cookies are a great option for you (just use GF oats).

Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!



35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page