top of page
  • Writer's picturekaoinspo

brown sugar cinnamon popcorn


What do you do when you have way more marshmallows than you know what to do with? You google search 'recipes with marshmallows'. Google has all of the answers to life's questions (ok, most of them!).

The recipe that stuck out most to me was one for marshmallow popcorn. It sounds so delicious... but also dangerous. Because who can eat just one handful of popcorn?!

Despite the possibility that I might eat the whole bowl of popcorn by myself, I decided to try it out. My inspiration for the recipe came from http://www.ohsweetbasil.com/marshmallow-popcorn. I just cut down a bit on the amount of brown sugar used in my recipe and added some cinnamon and salt.

Ingredients (makes 1 bowl of popcorn)

- 8 large marshmallows (or 64 mini ones)

- 1/3 cup brown sugar

- 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

- 1/4 tsp. salt

- 1/4 cup butter

- 1 bag popcorn (I used lightly salted)


How to make it

- pop popcorn, place in bowl, and set aside

- combine marshmallows, brown sugar, cinnamon, salt and butter in a microwave safe bowl

- place bowl in microwave, and microwave in 20 second increments (stirring after each time) until ingredients are melted together

- pour brown sugar mixture over popcorn and fold together until popcorn is well coated



Finished product



For next time...

I am very pleased with how this sweet treat turned out. Next time I might use the full 1/2 cup of brown sugar in order to coat more of the popcorn with the brown sugar mixture. That being said, I do like how some of the pieces aren't completely coated. Also, next time I will be sure to pour the mixture on top of the popcorn and mix immediately. This will make it easier to coat the popcorn with the sticky brown sugar mixture.

Variations

The opportunities for popcorn recipes are endless. In fact, I read a whole book about popcorn recipes the other day at the library (foodie nerd!). One of the recipes that inspired me was the one for s'mores popcorn. I would follow this recipe and instead of the brown sugar and cinnamon, I would add crushed up graham crackers and mini chocolate chips.

All in all

This recipe is a fun treat to enjoy for a family movie night, or the perfect treat to indulge in when you are craving some sugary goodness. The microwave does the majority of the work for you, and it takes very little time to make it. Since it is such a sweet treat, it only takes a handful or two to satisfy your sweet tooth. I don't think I will be able to finish the bowl myself. We will see... :) Happy Friday friends! Enjoy the weekend.


34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page