top of page
  • Writer's picturekaoinspo

cacao nibs smoothie


Some of you might be wondering what cacao nibs are. Don't worry, I just learned about these little guys a few weeks ago during my trip in SLC, Utah. While I was there for lacrosse, my teammates and I went to a cafe called "Pulp Lifestyle Kitchen." So many things on their menu looked delicious, but once I found out that it was smoothie happy hour, (50% off smoothies!!) of course I had to get one. I can't pass up a good deal, and the sound of 50% off is music to my ears. So I ordered a smoothie called 'In a Nutshell'. This smoothie is what inspired me to make this cacao nibs smoothie and share it with you all!

Although it is consider a smoothie, the chocolate from the cacao nibs combined with the peanut butter flavors and sweetness from the dates and bananas leads it to be a sweet treat... almost like a shake! So if you're looking for a sweet smoothie or a healthy shake, this smoothie might be for you...

About cacao nibs

After telling my mom about the smoothie I had in SLC with cacao nibs, we searched multiple grocery stores for cacao nibs. Of course we ended up finding them at Target... because what can't you find at Target? Anyways...cacao nibs are tiny chunks of cacao packed with many health benefits. According to Navitas Naturals (the brand of cacao nibs I used), cacao nibs are made from "cacao beans that are dried and milled at low temperatures to protect their superfood properties." Cacao nibs are also a Mayan superfood. They are packed with antioxidants, polyphenols (micronutrients that help prevent various diseases), and magnesium.

Ingredients (makes one smoothie)

- 2 tbsp. peanut butter

- 2 tbsp. cacao powder

- 3/4 cup pitted dates (chopped)

- 1 cup milk (I used almond milk)

- 1 tsp. cacao nibs

- 1 whole banana

- handful of ice cubes




How to make it

- Measure out the peanut butter in a dish and microwave for 20-30 seconds to get a thinner consistency (this helps with the texture of the smoothie)

- Chop 3/4 cup of dates into small pieces

- Measure out the remainder of the ingredients

- Pour all ingredients into the blender

- Add a handful of ice (more or less depending on your desired smoothie texture) and add to the blender

- Blend for 30-45 seconds or until smooth

- Enjoy your smoothie right away or place in the fridge for a cold refreshing smoothie

Finished product



For next time...

This recipe includes a lot of chocolate which I absolutely love. If you are not crazy about chocolate or are looking for a lighter smoothie, I would add about 1.5 tbsp. of cacao powder as opposed to two. Also, next time I would add about 1/4 cup more of milk because I prefer my smoothies to have a thinner consistency. Once you blend up your smoothie once, taste it and see if you want to add more of a certain ingredient. Smoothies are really easy to tweak during the blending process, so you can be sure to get a final product that you enjoy.

Variations

Although I love getting all of the health benefits from the cacao nibs in my smoothie, they are a bit spendy. So, if you are looking for a cheaper option, chopped up dark chocolate would work just as well. Dark chocolate has health benefits, too! Also, as I mentioned I used almond milk in my recipe, but any other type of milk would work just as well. If dates freak you out (they look like huge raisins), you can most definitely skip them in your smoothie. They add a sweetness to the smoothie that tastes great, but there are other elements that make the smoothie sweet as well. Also, if you wanted to add some protein to the smoothie to make it more filling, just add a scoop of your desired protein powder.

All in all

After making and tasting this smoothie, it was very similar to the one I had at the "Pulp Lifestyle Kitchen." My attempt at recreating the 'In a Nutshell' smoothie was a success! This smoothie is a great option if you are craving a chocolatey treat, but you don't want to feel guilty after eating it. Also, its hard to make something that has chocolate, peanut butter, and bananas that isn't delicious (in my opinion!) For the chocolate lovers out there--I highly recommend this smoothie to you. This was my first time cooking with both dates and cacao nibs, and I am excited to explore more recipes with these two foods. Have you ever cooked with cacao nibs or dates? If so, what did you make? Let me know in the comments or reach out to me in the 'get in touch' tab. For those of you who end up trying out this cacao nibs smoothie let me know what you think! I look forward to hearing from you all. Happy June!



55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page