top of page
  • Writer's picturekaoinspo

mixed berry fruit leather


Hey readers, it's been a while! Thanks for being patient while waiting for my next recipe. I finally had a day off so... here it is!

Fruit roll ups were one of my all time favorite childhood snacks. I remember going to my Grammy's house when I was little, and she would always have fruit rollups for me to snack on...what a treat!

One of the things I love about baking is knowing and controlling every ingredient in the recipe. The fruit rollups I had when I was a kid were delicious, but what I like about this recipe is that these fruit rollups are made up of two ingredients--fruit and organic honey.

Ingredients (makes one 11x15 baking sheet of fruit leather)

- 2 cups of mixed berries or your desired fruit

- 2-3 tsp. honey


How to make it

- measure out 2 cups of your desired fruit & add to blender (I used frozen fruit, so I let it thaw before)

- add 2-3 tsp of honey to blender

- blend until smooth

- taste fruit mixture, and add more honey if desired

- preheat oven to 170 degrees

- line an 11x15 baking sheet with parchment paper or use a silicone baking mat

- spread mixture evenly onto a parchment paper lined baking sheet or baking mat (about 1/8 in. thick)

- place baking sheet in oven and cook for about 4-4.5 hours... turning 180 degrees every hour

- remove from oven and let cool

- place leather on parchment paper (if it didn't bake on parchment) to make the cutting and storing process easier

- cut fruit leather into one inch strips and roll up

- enjoy!! store in zip lock bag or air tight container



Finished product



For next time...

I will definitely be making this recipe again and trying out some fun new fruit combinations. I also might purchase a silicone baking mat if I make fruit leather again. I had some issues keeping the parchment paper flat on the baking sheet, so the leather didn't bake completely smooth. That being said, parchment paper worked just fine. If you want to remove the fruit seeds from your leather, just strain the mixture after blending it and before baking.

Variations

This fruit leather recipe is easy to customize into your favorite fruity flavor. Some other fruit leather flavors I want to try include peach, strawberry, plum, and raspberry. I also think it would be fun to mix together two flavors to create a fun tie dyed look.

All in all

Fruit leather is a fun snack to make and an opportunity to reminisce on the delicious fruit rollups I used to enjoy back in the day. With only two ingredients, it is very easy to assemble. The most time consuming part of this recipe is waiting for the leather to bake and rotating the baking sheet periodically. This recipe is one you should make when you are planning on spending a day at home, considering the amount of baking time. Fruit leather is a great option for those of you looking for a sweet and healthy snack. Enjoy & happy snacking!



618 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page