top of page
  • Writer's picturekaoinspo

cinnamon apple tart


I love being home from school for winter break for many reasons--one of them being that the fridge is stocked with so much good food. I also love all of the free time I have to be creative and decompress after a semester of school. When my mom delegated the task of making a dessert for Christmas celebration with my grandma, I was more than happy to take it on. My only directions were to use up the apples and the pie crust in the fridge. So naturally, I decided to make an apple tart. Check out the recipe below!

Ingredients (makes one 9.5 in. pie pan tart)

- 5-6 apples depending on size

- 1 pie crust

- 6 tbsp. butter melted

- 1 tsp. cinnamon

- 2 tsp. sugar

- 1/2 tsp. vanilla

- 1 tsp. lemon juice

- 2 tbsp. brown sugar



How to make it

- preheat oven to 350 degrees

- lightly butter a 9.5 in. pie pan

- peel and core apples

- cut apples into thin slices (see photo below)

- in a bowl, coat apple slices with lemon juice

- in a separate bowl combine melted butter, cinnamon, sugar, and vanilla

- top apples with butter mixture and mix until apples are coated

- place pie crust into pie pan and press until stuck to the sides of the pan

- carefully place or pour apples into the pie pan (depends on how artsy you are feeling...see photo below for my attempt)

- once apples are placed onto pie crust, sprinkle brown sugar evenly over the apples

- bake in oven for 50 minutes at 350 degrees

- let cool before enjoying

- serve with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream




Finished product


For next time...

Next time I make this, I want to try making my own pie crust because I think it will improve the tart. Additionally, I will probably cut down the amount of butter I use from 6 tbsp. to 5 tbsp. or maybe even 1/4 cup.

Variations

I initially planned to make this recipe with the intention of arranging my apple slices in a pretty pattern, but soon figured out how challenging that is. An easier variation to slices may be to cut the apples into small cubes.

All in all

This is a great option if you are looking for a lighter dessert. The thin pie crust and baked apples will satisfy your sweet tooth without making you feel like you over indulged on the desserts. This was my first time trying out this recipe, so if you end up baking it let me know what you think!


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page